nanaxvm.blogg.se

Activate extra nic in vmware esxi 5
Activate extra nic in vmware esxi 5












ACTIVATE EXTRA NIC IN VMWARE ESXI 5 MAC

My mac mini runs a common linux distribution with xen enabled kernel – but that is far away from vmware´s work i run the very very cheap but uncertified Dell T105 tower server (sometimes available 150€) & boot from a 1gb usb stick and the guests reside on centralized NFS storage connected via multiple gigabit ethernet links – cheap, great performance and imho best for setting up a vmware lab or non mission critical servers Reply already the wacky LAN card was not supported in nearly any common linux distribution until a few months ago. I havent compared the minis hardware with the compatibilty list (which is very annoying, since you have to find out seperatly which hardware runs on the servers listed)īut i seriously doubt that it is compatible. but you probably won´t get any support from vmware in case of troubles. I haven´t tried it myself yet, but have a bit expirience in running esx on uncertified hardware – if you make sure to use common hardware which is typicly also used in the (low end) servers listed on vmwares compatibilty list, it works pretty charming. I was trying to find out of boreness if someone did it yet and found your blog. That’s two Mac Minis running VMware ESXi 5, a cheap $250 Netgear NAS handling the storage duties for shared storage, and a few other pieces of unrelated tech gear. Presto – my Ikea datacenter comes to life! My Ikea Datacenter WiFi doesn’t, but that’s okay – I wouldn’t even run a lab off that. The USB keyboard works, video out (via HDMI!) works, and the onboard Ethernet wired network card works. These ISOs work for my Apple Mac Mini 2011 (5.1):ĭownload the ISO, burn it to CD, and boot from it.

activate extra nic in vmware esxi 5 activate extra nic in vmware esxi 5

It has to be vSphere ESX or ESXi, not VMware Fusion or Parallels, because my clients all use ESXi and I wanted to be able to do things like VMotion and Storage VMotion.

activate extra nic in vmware esxi 5

I’d always wanted a small VMware vSphere 5 (ESXi) lab farm up and running, and I wanted to use Apple Mac Minis just for compactness and the silence. Great news – Pedro Costa has got a working solution! Apple Mac Mini 2010, 2011, and 2012 models all boot a patched version of VMware ESX 5.0: VMware ESXi 5 Running on an Apple Mac Mini












Activate extra nic in vmware esxi 5